Skip to content

Surrounded By Food

June 29, 2010

I’ve been pondering the prospect of launching a blog for a while now. Today, I decided to take the plunge. Why? I’ve witnessed an interesting convergence over the last 24 hours that have prompted me to take action.

First, on Facebook two friends asked where they might find two specific food items (chocolate-covered peanut butter pretzels and pretzel M&Ms, if you’re wondering, which can be found at Fresh Market and Target, respectively).

Second, my in-laws reported back on their first week away from the Southern-fried lifestyle, made necessary by my father-in-law’s second stroke in about 18 months.

Third, one of my favorite brands ever-Einstein Bros. Bagels-opened in Knoxville. I ate breakfast and lunch there on the same day.

Finally, Tennessee was named the second most obese state in the nation by Trust For America’s Health and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Shocker of shockers, I’m a statistic. I’m an obese person in an obese state in an obese nation. And, I love to eat. I’m a fat foodie who struggles with his weight.

I am doing something about it.

Eight weeks ago, I started Weight Watchers. Again. I’ve lost 25 pounds, officially.

Weight Watchers works for me because of the accountability. Knowing I have to get on a scale every week in front of another person is incentive to count my points between weigh-ins. Oh, and you GET TO EAT! Yes, I can have pizza or wings or wine if I want it, I just have to account for it. And it works.

My blog isn’t meant to be a rolling advertisement for Weight Watchers. I’ve tried everything: grapefruit, high protein, carbohydrate addict, liquid, medically supervised, blah, blah, blah. I know how to lose weight. I’ve probably lost 1,000 pounds over the course of my life. They seem to find me again, though, as the old joke goes.

My blog is about the dichotomy of loving food in all its forms while endeavoring to live a healthful life.

We are surrounded by food. It’s truly everywhere. Entire cable channels are dedicated to food and cooking. I spend a lot of time watching them, and trolling the Internet for recipes both healthful and not so healthful.

I love shows like Biggest Loser and Losing It with Jillian Michaels, and want to go all Bob Harper and Jillian. Then, I think, I could lose 150 pounds too if I were trapped on a beautiful ranch and forced to work out with state-of-the-art equipment for eight hours every day.

What I know, though, is real, sustainable, healthy weight does not happen overnight and is not as simple as burning more calories than you take in. It is a process.

Welcome to my journey.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Megan permalink

    Nicely put, Michael.

Leave a Reply

