Skip to content

‘Marathon Madness’ Has Begun

August 7, 2010

I began training for my next marathon this week.

Thanks to my friend and marathon team-mate, Robyn, I will be entering the Marine Corps. Marathon in Washington, D.C., on a bib transfer. That means, she is unable to go, but rather than forfeit the spot entirely she’s letting me take it.

I couldn’t be more thrilled and excited. The Marine Corps Marathon is a HUGE event. More than 30,000 runners and walkers participate, and spots filled up within two weeks after registration opened.

The race is October 31, which meant I had to get with the program quickly. Technically, I suppose I could say my training started with last week’s Pigeon Forge Midnight 8K. But, I hauled myself out of bed before sunrise three days this week to get in some serious fast walking at Lakeshore Park, mostly to get the miles in before the heat started baking the city. I schvitz like a messhugennah (that’s Yiddish for ‘sweat like a crazy person’) doing any kind of exercise; it’s even worse when the sun is out.

This morning was my first long training day — 9.5 miles. I hit the Third Creek Greenway was hopping with other walkers, runners and bicyclists, and it wasn’t even 8 a.m. Nice to see the folks from the Leukemia and Lymphoma Foundation’s Team in Training Program hitting the trail as well. (Mental reminder to wear my American Cancer Society DetermiNation shirt next long run!!) It was a great morning, and I made good time.

Speaking of DetermiNation, I also registered this week for the Country Music Marathon as an ACS DetermiNation participant. That event is April 30, 2011.  We’re hoping more than 100 athletes will race and raise money to fight cancer. Sales pitch: There are great amenities for DN runners, including training, special events, a pre-event pasta party and DN-specific gear check on race day. We’re working right now on establishing a training program for Knoxville area runners who want to join DetermiNation Nashville. Last year, I was the lone DN athlete in the Covenant Health Knoxville Marathon.  I had a blast and raised more than $1,700 to fight cancer. Now, I’m looking forward to Nashville.

By the way, I also registered for the Knoxville Marathon. It’s April 3, 2011. Sales pitch: A half-marathon, kid’s run and 5K all take place on race weekend. All races finish on the 50-yard line at Neyland Stadium. Registration is open and the early bird special is underway.

I signed up for three marathons this week. Complete and total madness! I can’t wait!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

