Skip to content

Success is Bittersweet When They Take Away Your Food!

August 17, 2010

Great thing about Weight Watchers: It works!

Over the last several months, I’ve been working to transform my eating and exercise habits with the help of Weight Watchers. If you’re not familiar with WW, it works on a point system. All foods are assigned points values based on calorie, fat and fiber content. Physical activities are also assigned points values based on weight, as well as the intensity and duration of the activity.

Like I said, the program works. During our weekly meetings, which are important to the success of the plan, we’re asked if we want to share anything on those occasions when we’ve reached a five-pound milestone, lost 10 percent of our starting weight, etc. Most weeks, I say the same thing: the program works if you follow the program. Track your food intake. Exercise. You can do that, and you get to eat real food. 

It’s true. WW isn’t a diet. You aren’t deprived of anything. Rather, you are accountable for it. Your daily points allowance is like a bank account. How you choose to spend your points is your choice. One piece of cheesecake at lunch, or an entire day’s worth of food? It’s your choice.  

Following WW, I’ve dropped 54 pounds in a matter of months. I’ve nearly conquered the 300-pound monster for the first time in more than five years. I feel so good that I’m in training to walk to Marine Corps. Marathon in Washington, D.C., later this year.

I can’t help but feel it’s a bittersweet victory, though. Here’s the thing: When the first two numbers of your weight change (say from 323 to 319), your points allowance drops. Okay, I’ve written that more positively than I actually feel about it. See, you lose a point. Losing points means less money in the bank. Less food you can eat in a day.

I started the program with the highest points allowance possible, and I stayed there for a long time. In the last three weeks I’ve lost two points and I’m on the verge of losing a third. Smaller bank account. Less food. Less food! I’m a food lover dangit!!

And I’m exercising more, which is helping with the weight loss, which is causing me to lose points. It’s a vicious cycle.

I know all of this is good. The program is working. I can see it in the mirror. I no longer have more chins than a Chinese phone book. I actually have a neck. My head is square, not round. I’ve had to buy new clothes. All of these are very good things.

Still, it feels a little like I’m robbing myself. I’m depleting the bank account. One more thing to deal with on this crazy weight-loss  journey.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

