Skip to content

My Tongue Feels Like it’s Been Buttered

August 19, 2010

You’ve heard the saying “some days you’re the windshield and some days you’re the bug.” So, what do you do when the windshield rises up the beat the crud out of the bug?

I’m on the road. this time to Montgomery, Ala., where I participated in a statewide smoke-free campaign meeting.

Normally, I prepare for trips by packing my own food to ensure that I have something healthy to eat in situations where I can’t be sure what’s going to be on the menu. I didn’t prepare this time because I flat didn’t have time to do it, and my lack of planning shows in my food choices.

I had dinner with a colleague in Montgomery last night. Wintzell’s Oyster House. I allowed myself to thoroughly enjoy the meal: smoked tuna spread on buttered baguette slices, beer, crawfish pot pie and, oh my word, bread pudding. It was delicious! But I paid the price overnight as I fought off heartburn.

This morning started out better: fruit, yogurt, and a muffin (not one of those big-as-your-head muffins, just a muffin). Lunch was pizza…not even good pizza. Barely serviceable Little Caesar’s pizza. That’s what happens in a gathering of government and non-profit worker–cheap eats.

There is an upside. I will remember feeling like crap after two days of “falling off the wagon and rolling around in the dirt.” I feel like grease is oozing out of my pores; it’s like my tongue has been buttered.

Tomorrow, I’ll be home and, while very busy getting everything ready for Saturday’s Hotter ‘n Hell 5K, I’ll get back on track. 

It’s all part of the journey.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

