Skip to content

What Have YOU Done Today to Make You Feel Proud?

September 21, 2010

Last weekend was a huge leap forward in my marathon training. I did two training sessions in less than 24 hours: 7 miles Friday afternoon then 16 miles on Saturday morning.

I ordinarily listen to music on my iPhone while I crank out the mileage. Getting lost in the music helps me forget that I’ve got miles to go before I stop, and I can’t hear myself breathing. By my third hour of walking, my training music wasn’t cutting it for me any more. I was tired physically, and I was tired of the techno beat synchronized at 175 beats per minute, scientifically designed to propel me through my workout. I love it, but I was over it. And I had two miles left to go.

I turned to a song most people know as the original theme song for NBC‘s The Biggest Loser. It’s a song called Proud. It’s performed by a wonderful artist named Heather Small. This song is also being used in promotions for the 2012 London Olympics. It’s a great tune, and very uplifting for a tired person who just wanted to get back to his car on Saturday morning.

I did finish, and in personal record time. Sixteen miles in 3 hours, 40 minutes. Maybe I could have gone a little faster had I not added those seven miles the morning before but still, I was proud of myself.

Watch the video, then tell me: What have YOU done today to make you feel proud?

From → Fitness, Weight Loss

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

