Skip to content

Say Goodbye to Mr. 300!

October 17, 2010

It finally happened.

I got on the scale at the Weight Watchers center in Knoxville yesterday, and passed a goal I’ve been trying to reach for a while: my weight dropped below 300 pounds. I weighed in at 298 pounds. I still have a long way to go, but dropping below 300 it a huge milestone–no pun intended.

I started this journey weighing 358 pounds. It seems the first 55 were easy to drop, relatively speaking. Those last five (if you’ve done the math, I’ve lost 60 pounds) were a pain in the fattest part of my assets! I’ve been training for the Marine Corps. Marathon, which is at the end of the month, and when my mileage started to bump up, I was eating more. I was walking 15, 18, 20 miles. I was hungry! And not “oh, maybe a little snack” hungry. No, more like “I could eat a horse” hungry.

One of the great things about Weight Watchers is you can do what we call eating your activity points. Walking at high-speed (for a fat guy) for three hours or more earns a lot of activity points. And I was eating them. But, I wasn’t really losing weight. In my last post on this topic, I bounced up and down between 300.4 and 303 pounds for several weeks.

This week, though, a week after my longest training run, I fell below that 300 line. Big news. Huge. I haven’t been here in more than five years. Even back then I didn’t stay below 300 for very long. We were on a medically supervised low-calorie (800 a day) diet. I dropped down to 287…but then we began eating “normal” food again. It didn’t take long to balloon back up.

I think (hope) things are different this time. I’ll begin training for two marathons, Covenant Health in Knoxville and Country Music in Nashville in late November, December. I’m three pounds away from achieving my 295-pound goal of bringing home the bicycle I have on layaway and intend to add cycling to my exercise routine. And I plan to add strength training (which I h-a-t-e) to my repertoire. I hate it, but I know I need to do it.

The difference between last time and now boils down to this: I saw the achievement of 287 as the end of the journey. This time, I realize the journey never ends. Weight Watchers goes on. New activities make the journey more interesting.

I’m looking forward to how this journey continues…

4 Comments
  1. Great job, keep it going and yes is a lifestyle change not just a diet. Try doing EFT to help change the behaviors and program your mind on your goals. If you are not familiar with EFT http://skyefrank.wordpress.com/2010/10/14/what-is-emotional-freedom-technique-eft/

  2. Yahoo! Way to go, Big Man…congrats!

  3. That is SO awesome!!! Congrats! I totally understand the feeling of seeing a number as the end, but it really never is going to end, it’s all about having a healthy relationship with food for the rest of your life. This is my second time around on weight watchers. This time is has to be for last time, which is the rest of my life.

  4. Awesome milestone Michael! Yeh, man! Way tah go!

Leave a Reply

