Skip to content

Survive the Holidays by Taking a Walk in a Festive Place

December 10, 2010

Many of us will be traveling this holiday season, and travel can often challenge our resolve to stick to a fitness or weight loss goal. My recommendation: wherever you are, go for a walk somewhere festive.

As I write this, I’m in Washington, D.C., and this city is seriously decked out for the holidays. Just yesterday, the First Family threw the switch on the lights for the National Christmas Tree. Although I didn’t want to get out in the crowds attending the lighting ceremony, I did want to see the tree, so last night I went for a walk to check it out:

One of the most beautiful spots to check out Christmas decor is The Willard Hotel, just a couple short blocks from the White House. Check out these pics:

Walking through the lobby of The Willard definitely put me in a holiday mood, but you don’t have to be in D.C. to go for a walk in a festive place. Downtown Knoxville’s Krutch Park, Gay Street, City-County Building, First Baptist Church and more are all decked out. And I defy you to keep your eyes off the rooftop trees all over downtown.

I’ll be traveling to my hometown of Racine, Wis., after Christmas and I’m looking forward to check out the Kiwanis Holiday Lights Spectacular at the Racine Zoo. The lights have been a Christmas tradition in Racine for over 25 years, and many of the displays once decked the yard of industrialist George Wheary. The zoo is a couple miles from my mom’s house, and my hope is to get out and walk down to the display and back.

Wherever you are, I guarantee you can find a festive spot to go for a walk, even if it’s a shopping mall.

Share

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

